Kiss Today Goodbye

Sometimes I wonder why I bother trying to write these entries. I struggled mightily yesterday and cranked out 761 words that are completely trumped by these five lines Ed Kleban wrote back in 1975:

Look my eyes are dry.
The gift was ours to borrow.
It’s as if we always knew,
And I won’t forget what I did for love,
What I did for love.
 

That ‘It’s as if we always knew‘ phrase was jammed in my head all morning today. There is more of course, but that’s the core of what I what I trying to get at yesterday, in five beautiful phrases.

Gone,
Love is never gone.
As we travel on,
Love’s what we’ll remember.
 

Here is a link to the 2006 revival cast singing the whole song. We saw it a week before it opened, because if there was ever a show that practically demanded to be seen in previews, it’s A Chorus Line. And yes, she most definitely was the One.

Kiss today goodbye,
And point me t’ward tomorrow.
We did what we had to do.
Won’t forget, can’t regret
What I did for love.
What I did for love.
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

